Thursday, January 30, 2014

National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992

Governed by Ministry of Minority Affairs
6 communities are Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains

Functions: (Union and States)
Evaluate the progress of the development of Minorities
Monitor the working of the safeguards provided in the Constitution and in laws enacted by Legislature.
Make recommendations for the effective implementation of safeguards for the protection of the interests of Minorities to governments
Look into specific complaints regarding deprivation of rights and safeguards of the Minorities and take up such matters with the appropriate authorities.

Can summon and enforce the attendance of any person from any part of India and examining him on oath.
can require the discovery and production of any document.
Can receive evidence on affidavit.
can requisite any public record or copy thereof from any court or office.
Can issue commissions for the examination of witnesses and documents.